Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar
Career of the Month:  Healthcare, EMS & Biotechnology "Prospective Student" Open House * November 8 * 9:30 a.m. and 6:30 p.m. Students in Southdale Elementary's KIDS Club enjoy the warm Fall weather! September is School Attendance Awareness Month Kettering Board of Education Offices at the Barnes Building The Firebirds Opened the 2017 Football Season with the Traditional Fairmont vs. Alter Game We are the FIREBIRDS! The 2017-18 Marching Firebirds are 271-Musicians Strong! CJ Roden, Oakview Elementary School's Music Teacher Students at Indian Riffle Elementary Brought Famous Artists and Musicians to Life with their 'Living Mural' Project A Kettering Teacher Works One-on-One with her Student Turf Field at Roush Stadium, Home of the Firebirds Kettering Bus Drivers Log more than 600,000 Route Miles a Year Kettering has Once Again Been Named a 'Best Communities for Music Education' Fairmont Park, home of Firebird Soccer, Field Hockey and Lacrosse Indian Riffle's Firebird Chorus Sings "God Bless America" at the Dedication of the Veteran's and Inventors Walk at Delco Park
Career of the Month:  Healthcare, EMS & Biotechnology "Prospective Student" Open House * November 8 * 9:30 a.m. and 6:30 p.m. Students in Southdale Elementary's KIDS Club enjoy the warm Fall weather! September is School Attendance Awareness Month Kettering Board of Education Offices at the Barnes Building The Firebirds Opened the 2017 Football Season with the Traditional Fairmont vs. Alter Game We are the FIREBIRDS! The 2017-18 Marching Firebirds are 271-Musicians Strong! CJ Roden, Oakview Elementary School's Music Teacher Students at Indian Riffle Elementary Brought Famous Artists and Musicians to Life with their 'Living Mural' Project A Kettering Teacher Works One-on-One with her Student Turf Field at Roush Stadium, Home of the Firebirds Kettering Bus Drivers Log more than 600,000 Route Miles a Year Kettering has Once Again Been Named a 'Best Communities for Music Education' Fairmont Park, home of Firebird Soccer, Field Hockey and Lacrosse Indian Riffle's Firebird Chorus Sings "God Bless America" at the Dedication of the Veteran's and Inventors Walk at Delco Park

Instructional Services

Debbie Mears
Director of Instructional Services

Instructional Services

Deborah S. Mears, Director
(937) 499-1422
deborah.mears@ketteringschools.org

Cindy Seitz, Secretary
(937) 4991422
cindy.seitz@ketteringschools.org

(A full listing of contact information for Instructional Services Staff Members can be found at the bottom of this information page.)

The Kettering City School District's Instructional Services Department is responsible for establishing Board of Education-approved courses of study and textbook adoptions for all academic areas, pre-K-12, that are aligned with Ohio’s Academic Content Standards.

Additionally, the Instructional Services Department works hand-in-hand with the district’s teaching professionals, providing professional development opportunities, keeping them up-to-date on effective instructional and assessment practices for the classroom as well as administration, interpretation and analysis of the required statewide Ohio Achievement and Graduation Test programs. The CCIP, Title I and other federal programs, textbook and instructional resource purchases, instructional technology and gifted services are also the responsibilities of the Instructional Services Department.

As part of its educational philosophy, the Kettering City Schools shall attempt to provide all students with an environment which encourages wholesome physical, mental, social, moral, and spiritual growth, and with an education which will enable them to assume responsibilities in present-day society.

We also feel our educational program should be based on the individuality of the student and the student's needs. We shall endeavor to achieve these goals through a flexible educational program in which students can be active participants. Therefore, we shall always strive to educate students as individuals and provide opportunities that will address their individual needs.

Special Education Services are also provided through the Instructional Services Department to students with disabilities as defined by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). These services include preschool programs for special needs children ages three-five; special class/learning centers; individual/small-group instruction; and co-taught classes with a special education teacher and a general education teacher working together to meet the needs of students.


Follow the links below to learn more about the curriculum offered in the Kettering City Schools:
Elementary Education
Middle School Education
High School Education
Art, Music & Physical Education
Special Education Services



Instructional Services Staff

Deborah S. Mears, Director
(937) 499-1422
deborah.mears@ketteringschools.org

Cindy Seitz, Secretary
(937) 499-1422
cindy.seitz@ketteringschools.org


Kathy Cavin, Elementary Curriculum Leader
937-499-1456
kathy.cavin@ketteringschools.org


Justin Cline, Elementary Curriculum Leader
937-499-1456
justin.cline@ketteringschools.org

Dawn Cauldwell, Gifted Education Coordinator
937-499-1456
dawn.cauldwell@ketteringschools.org

Sherri Alexander, Ed.D., Secondary Curriculum Leader
(937) 499-1454
sherri.alexander@ketteringschools.org

Roger vanBeysterveldt, Technology Integration Coach
(937) 499-1423
roger.vanbeysterveldt@ketteringschools.org

Bill Petrello, Data Specialist
(937) 499-1520
bill.petrello@ketteringschools.org

Carrie Hennessy, Ed.D.,  K-12 RTI Curriculum Leader
(937) 499-1455
carrie.hennessy@ketteringschools.org

Molly Carmosino, State and Federal Grants Specialist
(937) 499-1500
molly.carmosino@ketteringschools.org


Sara Wisecup, Secretary, Elementary Education
937-499-1456
sara.wisecup@ketteringschools.org

Karen Walling, Secretary, Secondary Education
937-499-1455
karen.walling@ketteringschools.org


Special Education

Jenny Smith, Supervisor
(937) 499-1435
jenny.smith@ketteringschools.org

Jennifer Landess, Secretary, Special Education Department
(937) 499-1435
jennifer.landess@ketteringschools.org

Mary Conlon, Special Education Coordinator (Fairmont H.S., Greenmont )
(937) 499-1619
mary.conlon@ketteringschools.org

Laura Finn, Special Education Coordinator (Van Buren, Kettering MS)
(937) 499-1472
laura.finn@ketteringschools.org

Carmella Friz, Special Education Coordinator (Oakview, Prass, Southdale)
(937) 499-1477
carmella.friz@ketteringschools.org

Jody Henderson, Special Education Coordinator (Indian Riffle, Oakview)
(937) 499-1482
jody.henderson@ketteringschools.org

Dawn Potter, Special Education Coordinator (Integrated Preschool)
(937) 499-1474
dawn.potter@ketteringschools.org

Amy Snyder, Special Education Coordinator (Prass, Orchard Park, Greenmont)
(937) 499-1478
amy.snyder@ketteringschools.org

Cindy Davis, Assistant EMIS Coordinator
(937) 499-1442
cindy.davis@ketteringschools.org

Julia Timberlake, Parent Mentor
(937) 499-1460
julia timberlake@ketteringschools.org



 

Documents

Stay Connected